Closing a Yahoo account

I terminated my Yahoo account on June 24. It was only used for Flickr. Flickr has been in a sad state for years, and is unlikely to improve under Verizon ownership.

Yahoo sent the following as a confirmation:

It’s strange that the final date is approximate. The 40 days concluded yesterday, August 3.

I’ve received several emails recently of spambots liking photos on Flickr, including one this morning (August 4):

Awesome photos, huh? Not so much.

I never received these notifications before asking Yahoo to terminate the account. It’s unclear why the Flickr content is still visible at all. In hindsight, I should have deleted the photos prior to terminating the account.

I could pessimistically conclude that this is a trick designed to get users to log back into their account and abort the termination process. I’m actually worried that my data will never get expunged.

For now, I’ve decided the best action is no action. Hopefully this all works out.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *